top of page
  • Writer's pictureLilianna Shank

What is the Difference Between OTD and MOT?

December 6th, 2022


 

I have discussed my passion for pursuing occupational therapy in previous blog posts, and in this post, I'll discuss the difference between a Doctorate of Occupational Therapy (OTD) and a Master of Occupational Therapy (MOT). By 2027, the Accreditation Council of Occupational Therapy Education (ACOTE) will require an OTD degree. If you received a master's before this mandate, you would be able to transition into this requirement known as "grandfathered in" meaning licensed OTs will not have to go back to school. Both are very similar and seem to have little difference, but many do not know that occupational therapy is currently transitioning from OTD to MOT. The main difference is OTD requires a scholarly dissertation in order to obtain a Ph.D. By achieving a Ph.D. degree, you will then be qualified to teach at a university and acquire a broader range of job opportunities related to OT. A career in MOT is financially cheaper due to a shorter amount of schooling and aims to engage more in clinical practice. The pay difference is not a big enough gap currently that it is affecting the decision of which route to go, but it is projected to increase within the next five years.

 


 

I have recently finished submitting the OTCAS, where I applied to three OTD programs and two MOT. My preference would be to obtain an OTD and complete my doctoral dissertation. This is because I feel a doctorate will allow me to have various options regarding my future career. This includes the option to have a teaching position at a university while still working as an OT or stepping into a more directive managerial position. The schools I applied to were similar in timeline regarding when I could complete my schoolwork. All programs were approximately three years, with three levels of fieldwork I would have to complete before my board exams. This motivated me to apply to doctorate programs as they all were equal, and the cost would not be much different. One graduate program I applied to has a combined program where it is accelerated, and you obtain your master's first, then go on to your doctorate degree within three years. While completing my observation hours, the OTs I shadowed encouraged me to pursue a doctorate as they felt this was the direction occupational therapy was headed and advised me not to go back to school. Since this was another indication, I felt I should pursue the OTD route while also applying to schools with an MOT program as a "safety net."

 





2 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page