top of page
  • aiticao03

Graduate School Application Process

Updated: Dec 6, 2022

October 30th, 2022


 

Occupational Therapy Centralized Application System (OTCAS)

To apply to graduate schools, I need to utilize a program-specific process that includes a centralized application similar to the Common App that high school students use. This application is a formatted and structured process requiring me to submit transcripts, references, test scores, OT observation hours, essays, supplemental materials, and other essential items. I learned that the McNair application fee waiver does not apply to the OTCAS because it is essentially a third-party application process where the school does not get the payment. A breakdown of the fees included an initial charge of $155 for the first school you, then an additional $67 for any other schools you continue to add. For the UW-Madison application, it said I also needed to fill out an additional graduate school application through the UW System. Then I could utilize that McNair scholar fee waiver only through the UW System application. I ended up paying approximately $355 for four applications. After submitting everything, it took the OTCAs 3 days to verify and finalize all my information. It is vital to know hitting submit does not mean you have sent in your applications. I was not aware of this small piece of information prior, and I realized after it's been verified that all applications are sent in officially.


 

OTCAS Completed Dashboard

 

Summer-Fall Application Process

Something I am thankful McNair helped me with is reviewing my general statement that I could easily upload and work on the individual essays each school required. Completing your resume or CV will help as most of the information about employment, experience, volunteering, etc., will help move this part of the OTCAS along more quickly. I started my entire OTCAS application at the beginning of August, as my goal was to have it finished before the fall semester of my school year started. St. Catherine's University was the only school with an early application date, but I wanted to submit the entire thing to every school so I wouldn't have to go back and worry about the other school's deadlines. Halfway through August, I emailed professors and employers asking for a letter of recommendation. I made sure to attach my resume and personal statement for them to understand my experience and passion for wanting to pursue occupational therapy. I made sure to give them until September 21st, as I felt this was enough time for them to review the attached materials I sent and to write a thorough letter. I also asked for a copy as I will have these letters on hand in the future for scholarships or potential employment elsewhere. After uploading my general personal statement, each school required 2-5 additional essays pertaining to their program. When submitting my transcript, I needed to order it online through Parchment early as this was something else that needed to be verified. When I was fully completed and had green check marks on every aspect of the OTCAS application, I submitted it by October 1st and will hear back in early spring of 2023.


 


2 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page